Progressive Railroading

Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.


Rail News Home Labor


Rail News: Labor

UTU elects Boyd to first full term as international president


On July 28, United Transportation Union members elected Byron Boyd Jr. to his first full term as international president at the union's ninth quadrennial convention in Anaheim, Calif. Of 584 votes, Boyd received 430; James Alford, 118; and James Fitzgerald, 36.

In February 2001, Assistant President Boyd was named international president to succeed Charles Little, who unexpectedly retired for health reasons.

Members also elected Paul Thompson as assistant president; Dan Johnson as general secretary and treasurer; James Brunkehoefer as U.S. national legislative director; and Tim Secord as Canadian national legislative director.

Re-elected as vice presidents are John Armstrong, Roy Boling, Pat Drennan, David Hakey, Mike Futhey, Tony Iannone, Rich Marceau, Arty Martin, Kim Thompson, Carl Vahldick and Bruce Wigent.

Newly elected vice presidents include Steve Thompson to succeed retiring Pete Patsouras, Bob Sharpe to succeed retiring Guy Scarrow; J.R. "Jim" Cumby to succeed retiring Don Carver; and Roy Arnold.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 7/29/2003