Progressive Railroading

Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.


Rail News Home Federal Legislation & Regulation


Rail News: Federal Legislation & Regulation

Shuster named chair of House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee


Rep. Bill Shuster (R-Pa.) will be the new chairman of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, the House Republican Conference determined yesterday. He will succeed Rep. John Mica (R-Fla.).

Shuster will be "chairman-elect" until the start of the 113th Congress in January.

Shuster has served on the committee since he joined Congress in 2001. Previously, he served as chairman of the Subcommittee on Railroads, Pipelines and Hazardous Materials, and as chairman of the Subcommittee on Economic Development, Public Buildings and Energy Management.

"Transportation issues are among the most critical that we face in Congress and as a nation," Shuster said in a prepared statement. "Our transportation infrastructure is the backbone that supports economic growth and global competitiveness.  … I look forward to continuing to work to reform programs, focus our resources where they are needed most, restore regulatory balance and better manage our federal assets."

American Public Transportation Association President and Chief Executive Officer Michael Melaniphy congratulated Shuster on his new position.

"We are excited about working toward stronger investment in public transportation to create a more efficient, multi-modal system, which is crucial for sustained economic vitality and global competitiveness," Melaniphy said in a prepared statement. "It will take a strong bipartisan effort of working together as we put people back to work by investing in transportation solutions to strengthen our communities."

After being named chairman-elect, Shuster announced the appointment of key senior staff members to lead the committee starting in January.

Christopher Bertram, currently the U.S. Department of Transportation's chief financial officer, will be the committee's chief of staff; Stephen Martinko, now chief of staff in Shuster's personal office, will serve as deputy chief of staff; Jennifer Hall will continue in her position as the committee's general counsel; and Jim Tymon will serve as senior adviser to the chairman and will continue as staff director of the Highways and Transit Subcommittee.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 11/29/2012