Progressive Railroading


Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

All fields are required.

Rail News Home Federal Legislation & Regulation


Rail News: Federal Legislation & Regulation

Conference committee to meet May 8 on surface transportation bill

House and Senate leaders have appointed their members to a surface transportation funding bill conference committee, which will hold its first meeting on May 8.

Sen. Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.), who chairs the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works, will chair the committee, according to a legislative alert from the American Public Transportation Association (APTA).

The Senate’s other appointees include Max Baucus (D-Mont.), Jay Rockefeller (D-W.V.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Tim Johnson (D-S.D.), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Bill Nelson (D-Fla.), Robert Menendez (D-N.J.), James Inhofe (R-Okla.), David Vitter (R-La.), Orrin Hatch (R-Utah), Richard Shelby (R-Ala.), Kay Baily Hutchison (R-Texas) and John Hoeven (R-N.D.).

Republican House representatives named to the committee include House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Chairman John Mica (Fla.), Don Young (Ark.), John Duncan (Tenn.), Bill Shuster (Penn.), Shelley Moore Capito (W.V.), Rick Crawford (Ark.), Jaime Herrera Beutler (Wash.), Larry Buschon (Ind.), Richard Hanna (N.Y.), Steve Southerland (Fla.), James Lankford (Okla.), Reid Ribble (Wis.), Fred Upton (Mich.), Ed Whitfield (Ky.), Doc Hastings (Wash.), Rob Bishop (Utah), Ralph Hall (Texas), Chip Cravaack (Minn.), Dave Camp (Mich.) and Patrick Tiberi (Ohio).

The 13 House Democrats on the committee are Nick Rahall (W.V.), Peter DeFazio (Oregon), Jerry Costello (Ill.), Jerrold Nadler (N.Y.), Corrine Brown (Fla.), Elijah Cummings (Md.), Leonard Boswell (Iowa), Tim Bishop (N.Y.), Henry Waxman (Calif.), Ed Markey (Mass.), Eddie Bernice Johnson (Texas), Earl Blumenauer (Oregon) and Eleanor Holmes Norton (D.C.).

The first meeting likely will address the scope of issues to be considered during the conference, APTA’s alert states. One contentious issue will relate to a provision, included in the House’s latest extension of the SAFETEA-LU bill, which would approve the permit to build the Keystone XL oil pipeline.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 4/30/2012