Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home CSX Transportation


Rail News: CSX Transportation

CSX's Michael Ward to receive Railroad Innovator Award from Progressive Railroading, RailTrends


Progressive Railroading and RailTrends® have named CSX Corp. Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Michael Ward the 2015 recipient of the "Railroad Innovator Award," which recognizes an individual's outstanding achievement in the rail industry.

Ward was named president of CSX Transportation in 2000, and appointed chairman and CEO in 2003. He began his career at CSX as a management trainee and during the past 37 years, he's held executive positions in nearly all aspects of the company’s business, including sales and marketing, operations and finance.

During his leadership tenure, the pragmatic Ward has prepped CSX for the post-coal world, leading the charge to diversify the railroad's business portfolio, a strategy that's keeping CSX on the growth track. He's also helped keep the Class I on the continuous-improvement curve, particularly when it comes to service. And the down-to-earth Ward has been consistent in his message-sending — accordingly, he's helped to change the culture at CSX, engaging the workforce to help improve service performance.

Progressive Railroading previously presented Railroad Innovator Awards to Canadian Pacific's Keith Creel, Norfolk Southern Corp.'s Wick Moorman, Union Pacific Corp.'s Jim Young, Kansas City Southern's Mike Haverty, BNSF Railway Co.'s Matt Rose and CN's E. Hunter Harrison.

Ward will receive the award during Progressive Railroading’s annual RailTrends conference, to be held Nov. 19-20 at the W New York in New York City. For more information, log onto

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 3/23/2015