TwitterFacebookRSS Print Friendly and PDF

GE impressions

Rail News Leader - Progressive Railroading

become a membernewsletters signup

<< Rail Magazine Articles Home


BNSF Railway Article
BNSF CEO Rose among 2013 Horatio Alger Award winners

BNSF Railway
The Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans Inc. recently named BNSF Railway Co. Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Matt Rose among 11 recipients of the 2013 Horatio Alger Awards.

The award recognizes individuals who "through perseverance and moral integrity" have succeeded despite personal and professional obstacles, association officials said in an award announcement. Award recipients are inducted as lifelong members of the Horatio Alger Association.

The award is named after Horatio Alger Jr., a 19th Century author best known for his novels about impoverished boys and their rise from humble backgrounds to lives of middle-class security and comfort through hard work, determination and courage.

Rose was 41 when he became CEO of BNSF in 2000. Since then, he has led the Class I to steady revenue and earnings growth, culminating in the sale of the railroad to Berkshire Hathaway Inc. in 2010.

Other 2013 award winners include U.S. Chamber of Commerce President and CEO Thomas Donohue; American Red Cross Chairman Bonnie McElveen-Hunter, who is owner and CEO of Pace Communications; and Richard Slocum, the retired head football coach at Texas A&M University who serves as a special adviser to the university's president. The winners will be honored at the 66th Horatio Alger Awards anniversary celebration to be held April 4-6 in Washington, D.C.


Browse articles on BNSF on Progressive Railroading

More articles

Progressive Railroading editorial staff.




Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry