Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Rail Industry Trends


Rail News: Rail Industry Trends

ASLRRA honors 2000's safest small roads, top safety-conscious worker


American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association (ASLRRA) Aug. 15 named 20 small roads as winners of its annual Safety Awards.

The association plans to present the awards at the ASLRRA Annual Meeting and Exhibition to be held Sept. 30-Oct. 2 in Anaheim, Calif.

Winners are determined by Federal Railroad Administration's frequency index, based on a railroad's employee injuries and annual man-hours worked in calendar-year 2000.

In the 1-to-50,000 annual man-hours worked category, 37-mile Florida Midland Railroad Co. Inc. won gold; 16-mile Adrian & Blissfield Rail Road Co., silver; five-mile Manufacturers' Junction Railway Co., bronze; and three-mile Atlantic & Western Railway L.P., copper.

For 10,001-to-50,000 annual man-hours worked, 106-mile Rochester & Southern Railroad Inc. claimed gold; 63-mile Livonia, Avon & Lakeville Railroad Corp., silver; 14-mile Point Comfort & Northern Railway Co., bronze; and 29-mile Morristown & Erie Railway Inc., copper.

Meanwhile, in the 50,001-to-250,000 annual man-hours worked category, 160-mile Columbus & Ohio River Railroad Co. took gold, 387-mile California Northern Railroad Co., silver; 116-mile The Bay Line Railroad L.L.C., bronze; and 71-mile Ohio Central Railroad Inc., copper.

For 250,001-plus annual man-hours worked, 447-mile Central Oregon & Pacific Railroad Inc. achieved gold; 957-mile Montana Rail Link Inc., silver; 369-mile Buffalo & Pittsburgh Railroad Inc., bronze; and 541-mile Florida East Coast Railway Co., copper.

In the switching and terminal railroads category, 10-mile Patapsco & Back Rivers Railroad Co. grabbed gold; 342-mile The Belt Railway Co. of Chicago, silver; 19-mile The Cuyahoga Valley Railway Co., bronze; and 207-mile Terminal Railroad Association of St. Louis, copper.

ASLRRA in 1999 developed the awards to recognize outstanding regional and short-line safety records. The awards are sponsored by Marsh Inc. and Canac Inc., which will present winners with a $1,000 check payable to the charity of their choosing.

Prior to naming its safety award winners, ASLRRA Aug. 9 announced the first-ever recipient of its Safety Person of the Year Award.

A panel comprising Association of American Railroads, National Industrial Transportation League, Railway Progress Institute and United Transportation Union members chose Montana Rail Link locomotive engineer David Roth.

An MRL engineer since 1987, Roth helped implement a Hunger, Anger, Loneliness and Tiredness (HALT) program designed to determine the root causes of human-factor accidents and injuries.

ASLRRA plans to present the award to Roth Oct. 1 at its annual meeting.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 8/16/2001