Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Rail Industry Trends


Rail News: Rail Industry Trends

AAR honors haz-mat safety achievements


The Association of American Railroads (AAR) recently named CITGO Petroleum Corp. and Federated Co-Operatives Ltd. winners of the 2009 Non-Accident Release Grand Slam Award. The association also presented the Holden-Proefrock Award to Bureau of Explosives (BOE) Chief Inspector Allen Maty.

AAR and the BOE bestow the Non-Accident Release Grand Slam Award annually to recognize “exemplary” hazardous materials shippers. To be eligible for the award, a shipper must be honored individually by at least four Class Is for its safety performance and register no non-accidental releases in a given year.

The Holden-Proefrock Award recognizes a person in the rail industry who has made significant contributions to haz-mat transportation safety throughout his or her career. The award is named in honor of the late Roy Holden, a former AAR employee and pioneer in tank car design safety and damage assessment; and the late Art Proefrock, a former Hulcher Emergency Services employee who was a leader in haz-mat emergency response.

An instructor at the Transportation Technology Center Inc.’s Security and Emergency Response Training Center in Pueblo, Colo., Maty has helped ensure the BOE is a “respected organization in the haz-mat industry,” according to a prepared statement. Founded in 1907 under AAR predecessor the American Railway Association, the BOE promotes haz-mat shipment safety and improvements.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 6/14/2010