Progressive Railroading


Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

All fields are required.

Rail News Home Rail Industry Trends


Rail News: Rail Industry Trends

BNSF's Robinson receives Hammond award for safety achievements

Yesterday, Burlington Northern Santa Fe Carman Dennis Robinson was named recipient of the 2004 Harold F. Hammond Award, which recognizes an individual railroad employee for outstanding safety achievement.

A 39-year railroad veteran, Robinson has served as safety assistant for BNSF's mechanical, car and locomotive team in Newton, Dodge City, Hutchinson and Wellington, Kan., for the past 13 years. He has helped the team surpass 14 years without a Federal Railroad Administration-reportable injury — one of the best safety records in the railroad industry, according to the Association of American Railroads.

Robinson also helped develop and review job safety analyses before supervisors distributed them to employees, and designed a manual used by workers who perform emergency roadwork outside terminals.

The other eight Hammond nominees — who will receive certificates of commendation for their safety achievements — are:
• Jerry Bailey, a Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Railroad Corp. (Metra) bridge supervisor in Chicago;
• Carlo Blanco, a Union Pacific Railroad sheet-metal worker in Proviso, Ill.;
• William Gibbons, an MTA Long Island Rail Road Co. superintendent of transportation in New York City;
• Tim Gowdey, a CSX Transportation carman in Sarnia, Ontario;
• David Haffner, an Amtrak mechanical superintendent in Chicago;
• Dennis Leonard, a Canadian Pacific Railway electrician in Cottage Grove, Minn.;
• Michael Patrick, a Norfolk Southern Railway water service repairman in Decatur, Ill.; and
• David Roth, a Montana Rail Link locomotive engineer in Laurel and Billings, Mont.

Established in 1986, the award is named after the late Harold F. Hammond, who served as president of the Transportation Association of America and chairman of the E.H. Harriman Memorial Safety Awards selection committee.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 5/7/2004