Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Rail Industry Trends


Rail News: Rail Industry Trends

Don Schneider snags Maryland business school's Person of the Year honor


Logistics, Transportation and Supply Chain Management Society of University of Maryland's Robert H. Smith School of Business Nov. 9 named Don Schneider its 2001-2002 Person of the Year.

The business school recognized Schneider — president and chief executive officer of trucking and intermodal company Schneider National Inc., and founder of Schneider Logistics Inc. — "for his commitment to employee empowerment and for embracing technology to drive productivity," according to a prepared statement.

"Technology plays a key role in what's going on in logistics today," said Schneider at the award ceremony.

Since joining in 1961 the company his father founded in 1935, Schneider helped build privately held Schneider National into a leading transportation provider with 19,000 employees, 36 North American operating locations and more than $3 billion in annual revenue.

Schneider in 1993 formed Schneider Logistics — which now employs 1,400 logistics and information technology (IT) workers — with an aim to help companies manage complex logistics operations and reduce costs by applying Schneider Logistics' IT systems. Schneider National recently postponed plans to take Schneider Logistics public.

Schneider is Business Advisory Committee chairman for Northwestern University's Transportation Center, an advisory board member of Kellogg Graduate School of Management, a board and executive committee member of the Green Bay Packers, and a former Federal Reserve Board director.

The society annually presents its Person of the Year award to an individual society members believe has made outstanding contributions to the logistics, transportation and supply-chain management industry. Past winners include National Industrial Transportation League President Edward Emmett.