Progressive Railroading


Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

All fields are required.

Rail News Home Rail Industry Trends


Rail News: Rail Industry Trends

House backs building of National Railroad Hall of Fame in west-central Illinois town

Last week, Rep. Lane Evans (D.-Ill.) introduced a resolution to the House — which passed by voice vote — supporting the construction of a National Railroad Hall of Fame in Galesburg, Ill.

"The mission of the Hall of Fame focuses on the men and women who developed and maintained one of our nation's greatest forms of transportation," said Evans, according to House documents. "[The hall will] inspire us to continue in the American tradition that built our railroad system."

Inductees are selected from three eras: 1800 to 1865, 1866 to 1945 and 1946 to the present. 2002 inductees were Sanford Fleming, George Pullman and Louis Menk. Recently announced 2003 inductees are Abraham Lincoln, Cyrus Holliday, Cornelius Vanderbilt, Elijah McCoy and Ralph Dudd.

"The reason the founders of the Hall of Fame choose these time periods is to reflect the different stages of railroad development and the continuing growth through today into the future," said Evans.

National Railroad Hall of Fame Inc. is developing the hall in Galesburg because of the city's rich rail history. In 1849, Galesburg became a destination on the newly established Peoria and Oquawka Railroad. In 1886, the Atchison, Topeka and Santa Re Railway began serving the city.

Galesburg also is home to Carl Sandburg College, one of the first universities to establish a railroading curriculum. The college still offers rail-operation courses.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 10/17/2003