Progressive Railroading

Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Rail Industry Trends


Rail News: Rail Industry Trends

Bush nominates Biden and McLean as reform board members


Yesterday, President Bush announced he nominated R. Hunter Biden and Donna McLean as Amtrak Reform Board members and sent the nominations to the Senate. To serve five-year terms, Biden and McLean would replace Michael Dukakis and John Robert Smith, whose terms expired.

If the Senate confirms the nominations, the board will have one remaining vacancy. The board currently comprises Amtrak Chairman David Laney, Floyd Hall and Enrique Sosa. Acting Amtrak President and Chief Executive Officer David Hughes is a non-voting member.

Biden is a founding partner of Washington, D.C. law firm Oldaker, Biden & Belair. He previously held a senior U.S. Department of Commerce post.

McLean heads lobbying firm Donna McLean Associates. She previously served as chief financial officer for the U.S. Department of Transportation and assistant administrator for financial services for the Federal Aviation Administration.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 5/17/2006