Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Passenger Rail


Rail News: Passenger Rail

Denver's RTD board elects officers, seats four new directors for 2011


On Monday, the Regional Transportation District of Denver appointed officers for 2011 and swore in four recently elected directors to its 15-member board.

The new officers are:

• Lee Kemp, chairman. First elected to the board in 2004, Kemp was re-elected in 2008 to a four-year term, and has been elected board chairman annually since 2008. He also serves on the Denver Downtown Development Authority and is employed by Daimler Buses North America.

• John Tayer, first vice chairman. Tayer has been on the board since 2007 and has more than 14 years of experience in transportation policy. He was re-elected to a four-year term in November. Tayer is employed by Roche Colorado in Boulder.

• Matt Cohen, second vice chairman. Cohen was elected to a four-year term on the board in 2008. A real estate broker, he has served on several local boards.

• Angie Malpiede, secretary. Malpiede was appointed to the board by Denver Mayor Hickenlooper and confirmed by the Denver City Council to fill a vacancy in March 2010. In November, Malpiede was elected to a four-year term. She is employed as director of the Stapleton Area Transportation Management Association.

• Kent Bagley, treasurer. Bagley was first elected in 2008 to a four-year term. He is an urban planner and real estate consultant with Bagley Development Consultants. Bagley also is chairman of the Littleton Planning Commission.

The four new directors elected in November and sworn in this week to a four-year term are:

• Lorraine Anderson, who has long been involved in civic and political activities, including 24 years on the Arvada City Council, where she was Mayor Pro Tem for six years. She is retired from Anderson Tire Service Inc., a dealership she co-founded.

• Barbara Deadwyler, secretary of the A. Phillip Randolph Institute. She is retired from Kaiser Permanente, where she was senior project consultant, labor management partnership consultant and master trainer.

• Larry Hoy, a certified residential real estate appraiser in Colorado. His community activities have included serving on the Adams County Economic Development Council; and the boards of the Metro North Chamber of Commerce, Bellco Credit Union, Frontier Airlines Credit Union.

• Ken Riley, who serves as executive director of Colorado's American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 1/7/2011