Progressive Railroading

Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.


Rail News Home Federal Legislation & Regulation


Rail News: Federal Legislation & Regulation

Congress names transportation committee leaders


The U.S. House and Senate have established their committee and subcommittee leadership for the 116th Congress, including those related to transportation.

In the House, U.S. Rep. Sam Graves (R-Mo.) will serve as the ranking member of the Transportation and Infrastructure (T&I) Committee. Last week, Graves announced minority staff for the committee will include Paul Sass as the Republican staff director; Jack Ruddy as deputy staff director; Fred Miller as general counsel; and Justin Harclerode as communications director.

Last week, U.S. Rep. Peter DeFazio (D-Ore.) was named chair of the T&I Committee.

Meanwhile in the Senate, U.S. Sen. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.) will succeed Sen. John Thune (R-S.D.) as chairman of the Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation. Republicans elevated Thune to the position of majority whip.

The committee's ranking member will be Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), who replaces former Sen. Bill Nelson (D-Fla.). Nelson lost his campaign for re-election in the November 2018 midterm elections.

Also, Sen. Deb Fischer (R-Neb.) will chair the Subcommittee on Transportation and Safety. Previously, she chaired what was called the Subcommittee on Surface Transportation and Merchant Marine Infrastructure, Safety and Security during the 115th Congress.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 1/14/2019