Progressive Railroading

Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Canadian National Railway - CN


Rail News: Canadian National Railway - CN

Honorees receive 2019 Rising Stars awards in Norfolk


Progressive Railroading yesterday honored 25 people chosen as the Rising Stars of the North American railroad industry at a recognition dinner held in conjunction with the American Association of Railroad Superintendents Annual Meeting in Norfolk, Virginia. 

Twenty of the 25 Rising Stars attended and were presented their award from Progressive Railroading Senior Associate Editor Julie Sneider. 

A Rising Star is defined as someone under 40 years of age who has made, or is making, a positive impact on his or her company, organization, department or team, and is viewed by others — peers, colleagues, supervisors, clients or associates — as an up-and-coming leader in the rail industry.

During a nomination process, Progressive Railroading readers submitted more than 120 nominations of individuals who work for Class Is, regionals, short lines, passenger railroads, transit agencies, government agencies, academic institutions, engineering firms and rail suppliers.

The 2019 Rising Stars are: 

Terry Atkinson, Union Pacific Railroad
Cathrin Banks, Maryland and Delaware Railroad Co.
Matt Bell, Rail government affairs consultant
Jeffrey Brantz, Metra
Kelley Carr, Amtrak
Landon Downes, Balfour Beatty Rail
Mickaela Doyle, Watco Cos. LLC
Shannon Emberly, CN
Sara Garza Gonzalez, Kansas City Southern de Mexico
Crystal Gitchell, American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association
Dustin Hall, Security Through Safe Design Inc.
Linda Hernandez , Kansas City Southern de Mexico
Kimia Khatami, Pacific Harbor Line Inc.
Amanda Limburg, David Evans and Associates Inc.
Nicolas Mabboux, CN
Jessica Mefford-Miller, Metro Transit-St. Louis
Brian O'Donnell, Metro-North Railroad
Luke Olson, Loram Maintenance of Way Inc.
Shirley Qian, Capitol Corridor Joint Powers Authority
Audra Rodgers, AECOM
Devin Rouse, Federal Railroad Administration
Katie Sanders, Union Pacific Railroad
Scott Schiemann, Indiana Harbor Belt Railroad Co.
James Schwichtenberg, CSX
Amanda Trainor Patrick, Rail Supply Institute

For more details on and to read individual profiles of the 2019 Rising Stars, click here

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 7/23/2019