Progressive Railroading Daily News


Now available on your:

Monday, April 08, 2013    

STB appoints Hurst to railroad-shipper advisory council

The Surface Transportation Board (STB) last week appointed Wayne Hurst to the Railroad-Shipper Transportation Advisory Council (RSTAC). He fills a previously announced vacancy on the 19-member council, which serves as a forum for the discussion of regulatory, policy and legislative issues pertaining to rail shippers and railroads.

An agricultural producer in Burley, Idaho, Hurst is a past president of the Idaho Grain producers Association and National Association of Wheat Growers.

The U.S. transportation secretary and three STB members serve as ex-officio, non-voting members of the council, which was established in 1995. The other 15 members, nine of which are voting members, are appointed by the chairman. All RSTAC members serve three-year terms.

Nine council members are appointed from among senior executive officers of organizations engaged in the railroad and rail shipping industries. At least four of the voting members must be representatives of small shippers as determined by the chairman, and at least four must be representatives of Class II or III railroads. The remaining six members — three representing Class Is and three representing large shipper organizations — serve in a non-voting, advisory capacity, but are entitled to participate in RSTAC deliberations.

More news items from 4/8/2013
Rail Industry Online Only Features
(past 30 days)

InnoTrans 2014

Pandrol, click here.

Unitrac, click here.

Get more information